wamp:change phpmyadmin root password

September 23, 2008

The problem:
I’ve received an email from a friend that encountered an MySQL said: #1045 - Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES) error when he is trying to access his http://localhost/phpmyadmin. This happened after he tried to change ‘root’ password using phpmyadmin. It seems like phpmyadmin not changing his password correctly.

The cure:
After you’ve change your ‘root’ password using phpmyadmin, you should edit your \wamp\apps\phpmyadmin\config.inc.php

*stop all mysql services before proceed

find this line of code:

$cfg['Servers'][$i]['user'] = 'root'; // MySQL user
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['password'] = ''; // MySQL password <-- type your new root password

Restart your mysql services and you’ll able to access your phpmyadmin back :D

17 Responses to “wamp:change phpmyadmin root password”

  1. anita Says:

    thank you so much. it worked

  2. Jenn Says:

    thanks, works like a dream. I installed Joomla! which rqd a pssd, and this advice helped me get phpmyadmin back on track. thanks!

  3. Adam Says:

    Thank you – You are a life saver. Its great people like you that make the internet an awesome resource.

  4. Maria Says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH!! This just saved my life :D

  5. Sapan Says:

    Thanks a lot for your help. Now it works correctly

  6. Narendra Says:

    I had a same problem after changing root user password using phpmyadmin, but now it is solved.

    Thank you for this great trick.

  7. dermis Says:

    glad to hear it worked for you. cheers =)

  8. sakeer Says:

    phpMyAdmin – Error
    Cannot start session without errors, please check errors given in your PHP and/or webserver log file and configure your PHP installation properly

    I got this error while change root password and edit config.inc. How can it solve?

    Plz Help me…….

  9. $ Dj D.P.E. $ Says:

    ok I had the same prob. I did what you said and still got the error is there a way I can change my password that I set I’m thinking I might have hit a wrong button or something when I put it in :(

  10. faizan Says:

    it resolve my very big problem thnxxxxxx

  11. Farid pourbozorg Says:

    very usefull. tnx…

  12. paullstanley Says:

    I remember when I first installed Wamp. Changing the password threw me for such a loop because I wasn’t used to config files. Great article, thank you! If you are interested I have a simple walk through explaining how to change root password for Wamp on a Windows based machine here: http://www.itutorblog.com/2011/06/how-to-change-root-password-on-wamp/

  13. Matt Says:

    Thank you for this post, it provided just the information I needed; without all the bull surrounding it.
    I thought I was going to have to reinstall wamp for a minute then!
    Thanks again,
    Matt

  14. jerkey Says:

    For the people that still have this problem after changing the password in the config.inc.php…

    You need to delete your browser cache as well, then try again!

  15. John Says:

    realtalk you’re the man bro

  16. Hazli Says:

    8 liner cure …..
    akupunyalah bersungguh baca forum, panjang lebar depa explain. Masuk command line bagai….

    Thanks bro


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

